World Finals is not complete without a celebration of all your creativity and hard work!

See the Videos Tab for videos of all events!

Watch the ceremonies on our homepage or on social media!

Awards at the Ceremony:

Place Awards: Out of hundreds of teams, 19 will be named World Champions. Teams placing 1st, 2nd, and 3rd in each problem and division receive a trophy, and each member of those teams receives a medal. Teams placing 4th, 5th, and 6th receive an honorable mention.

Ranatra Fusca: The Ranatra Fusca Creativity Award is given to a team or individual for demonstrating outstanding creativity. This award embodies all that the Odyssey of the Mind program represents. It is presented at all levels of competition from regional tournaments to World Finals.

Individuals and teams who receive this award at World Finals are presented with gold medals, and their coaches receive a plaque for their school. The names of these individuals and teams are engraved on the Ranatra Fusca trophy. This tradition has been honored every year since 1980.

The Ranatra Fusca trophy is displayed each year at the World Finals Awards Ceremony and at the Creativity Festival. It has also been on display in Explorer’s Hall at the National Geographic Society building in Washington, D.C.

OMER’s Award: OMER’s Award recognizes those individuals, coaches, team members, parents, officials and others who, during a tournament, serve as exemplary examples or role models through their actions or words. This award is also bestowed on team members who exhibit exceptional skill and talents.

Spirit Award: The Odyssey of the Mind Spirit Award is presented to an individual involved in the Odyssey of the Mind program who, through personal action, demonstrates the encouragement and development of cooperation, self-respect, and the appreciation and understanding of others.

Congrats to this year’s winner, Lisa Hackney from Georgia!

Past recipients include: Dr. Jim Mourey, Anna Long, Jeff Carter, Dennis Godfrey, Wojtek Radziwilowicz, Joy Kurtz, Fern Brown, Dan Semenza, Eric Lundberg, Jackie Otte, Ron Raab-Long, Rita Sleeman, Todd “Hoss” McNutt, Wayne Otte, Oog Hwang, Wayne Kehrli, Mabry King, Dr. Harold Kurtz, Weixin Chen, Angela Wilkerson, Dr. Athelene Carter, Dr. Karl-Ernst Plagemann, William Cook, Doug DeFrees, Lynda McGinty, Tom Mauro, Rich Safaris, and Rosemary Bognar.

Check back throughout and after World Finals to relive some of our highlight moments. Welcome Video: WF Montage:

 See the entire 2023 World Finals Photo Gallery here


2023 Awards Ceremony

Feel free to contact: with any questions.

  • If you’re planning an in-person visit, we’re happy to provide access to long-term competition sites as well as the events that take place throughout the competition. We hope to help you let others know about talented students from around the world!

| Learn more Odyssey HQ Social Media Local Contacts |